Your Cart

Backyard World Team Championships

October 2024

In 2024, around 50 countries worldwide will be taking part in the third official Backyard World Team Championships.

Each nation will simultaneously host a Backyard Ultra on home soil for 15 of their strongest local runners. Traditional rules apply: 6.7km loops (AKA a 'yard') on the hour, every hour, until one person is left standing.

The 15 athletes will have dual motivation for running; both to score points for their country and naturally, to win the local race themselves.

For each yard an individual completes, 1 point is awarded to their country's score. The total sum of all yards run by all 15 athletes by the end of their event, equals the country's overall score. The country with the highest number of yards wins the Championships.

The athlete who wins their local Backyard will be crowned National Champion.

How can I qualify for the 2024 squad?

The beauty of the Backyard is that anyone can get onto their National Team. Here's how:

  • Run an official Backyard Ultra within the two year qualifying period: 16th Aug 2022 - 15th Aug 2024
  • If you hold one of the top 15 results (Ie. the most yards/loops) by 15th Aug 2024, you've made the team!

Any Maltese National or Permanent Resident in Malta can get in, and you can run your qualifying Backyards anywhere in the world. It is not limited to our own events (Endure 2022 & 2023). Just make sure that you enlist as 'Maltese' during the registration process of your chosen race.

2024 Malta National Team Leaderboard

Current Top 15 performances

  • Niki Micallef | 27 yards
  • Stephen S. Nurminen | 26 yards
  • Stephanie Smith | 25 yards
  • Robert Formosa | 22 yards
  • Claudio Camilleri | 21 yards
  • Frank Fenech | 20 yards
  • Nadia Portelli | 20 yards
  • Patrice Peyre | 20 yards
  • Mark Sciberras | 19 yards
  • Drew Lang | 18 yards
  • Mario Agius | 18 yards
  • Jason Greenaway | 16 yards
  • Adrian Camilleri | 15 yards
  • Anthony Fenech | 13 yards
  • Patrick Tabone | 13 yards

2022 Malta National Team

  1. Claudio Camilleri
  2. Niki Micallef
  3. Anthony Fenech
  4. Patrick Tabone
  5. Mario Agius
  6. Stephanie Smith
  7. Frank Fenech
  8. Robert Formosa
  9. Mark Sciberras
  10. Jason Greenaway
  11. Stephen Sammut Nurminen
  12. Nadia Portelli
  13. Patrice Peyre
  14. Adrian Camilleri
  15. Drew Lang